Classic hut-to-hut routes · Austria
Stubai Höhenweg
Eight Alpine Club huts in a horseshoe above the Stubai valley, an hour from Innsbruck, with a bed and a warm meal every single night.
In short
The Stubai Höhenweg is a horseshoe of about 80 km around the Stubai valley, an hour from Innsbruck in Austria, taking 7–8 walking days. Every night is in a staffed Alpine Club hut, with a bed at 15 euros for members in a large dormitory, and the valley bus runs at both ends. Our table holds 7 huts and shelters along its stages.
Also written as: Stubaier Höhenweg · Stubai High Trail
- Distance
- ~80 km
- Days
- 7–8
- Total ascent
- not in our source
- High point
- not in our source
- Season
- July to mid-September
The Stubai Höhenweg is the friendliest way into Austrian hut walking: a week-long horseshoe from hut to hut around the head of the Stubai valley, every night in a staffed Alpine Club hut, every hut reachable from the last in a single day, and the valley bus at both ends.
Friendly is not the same as easy. The passes are high, a few short sections are cable-protected, and the weather at 2,500 m turns fast. But there is no glacier travel and no route-finding, and the huts book through one central system, which makes it the simplest classic on this page to actually organise.
- Who it suits
- Level: ExperiencedAnyone doing a first hut-to-hut week, or a family with older children who can manage six-hour days.
- The nights
- Alpine Club huts throughout, all bookable online; members of any Alpine Club sleep at a reduced rate.
Stage points and the shelters near them
Published path grades around the stage points run T1 to T5, from 9 of 9 stages. That describes the terrain there, not the exact line of the route. A via ferrata grade appears somewhere along it.
7 shelters within 4 km of the stage points, from the shelter table. Distances are from the stage point, not walking distances.
01Neustift im Stubaital
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Neustift im Stubaital; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
02Starkenburger Hütte
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Starkenburger Hütte; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
03Franz-Senn-Hütte
- Oberissalm
1,742 m · wardened · 2.2 km
- Neue Regensburger Hutte
2,286 m · wardened · sleeps 101 · 3.1 km
04Neue Regensburger Hütte
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Neue Regensburger Hütte; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
05Dresdner Hütte
- Zollhütte
unstaffed · 0.7 km
- Dresdner Hütte
2,308 m · wardened · 0.8 km
- Hildesheimer Hütte
2,900 m · wardened · 3.9 km
- Sulzenau Hutte
2,191 m · wardened · sleeps 70 · 4.0 km
06Sulzenauhütte
- Nürnberger Hutte
2,278 m · wardened · sleeps 76 · 3.9 km
07Nürnberger Hütte
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Nürnberger Hütte; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
08Bremer Hütte
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Bremer Hütte; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
09Innsbrucker Hütte
No shelter in our table within 4 km of Innsbrucker Hütte; this stage usually ends in a village or a private inn.
How booking works
Alpine Club huts on this route take reservations through hut-reservation.org, the shared system of the German, Austrian and Swiss clubs. We link straight to it and earn nothing from a hut booking.
Members of any Alpine Club pay a reduced rate at all club huts, whichever club they joined, and membership usually includes mountain rescue cover. On a week of hut nights it pays for itself. Join the ÖAV
When and how to book
Most huts on the route are booked through hut-reservation.org, the shared booking system of the German, Austrian, Swiss and South Tyrol Alpine Clubs, which covers more than 500 huts. There is no single opening date: each hut sets its own.
The Stubai tourist board says many huts fill early in the season, and the Franz-Senn-Hütte asks outright for advance reservations. Its staffed summer season in 2026 ran from 11 June to 3 October.
What it costs
In German and Austrian Alpine Club huts (category I) the 2026 member price is capped at 15 euros for a bunk in a large dormitory (Lager), 25 euros in a smaller shared room and 36 in a two-bed room. Non-members pay at least 12 euros more.
Each hut prices its own half board, usually 40–60 euros on top of the bed, and a hut may not make half board a condition of booking a bed. Bergwelten's sample day for a member in a shared room: bed 25, dinner with drinks 25, breakfast 15 and a shower 3, so 68 euros.
Prices rise in January 2027: at a Munich section hut, for example, a member's bunk goes from 15 to 18 euros.
Another source, other numbers
The Tirol tourist board gives the route as 79.7 km in 8 stages with 5,871 m of ascent and a high point of 2,879 m, and a season from mid-June to early October.
Getting there from Tel Aviv
Most walkers fly to Munich, which has had two Lufthansa flights a day from Tel Aviv since August 2026, then take the train to Innsbruck and the bus to Neustift in the valley, about half an hour from Innsbruck.
After the disruption of 2026, direct routes from Tel Aviv open and close often, so check the current schedule before fixing dates, and book the huts before the flight.
Common questions
Every answer below is counted from the 7 shelters our table holds along this route. Where a shelter does not state something, it is counted as not stated rather than assumed.
- How long is Stubai Höhenweg, and how many days does it take?
- About 80 km, usually walked in 7–8 days.
- When can you walk it?
- The season is July to mid-September. None of the shelters along the way publish their warden months, so plan from the route's season rather than from ours.
- Where do you sleep?
- In 7 shelters within 4 km of the stage points, of which 7 are run by an Alpine Club. 0 of them can be booked online through the clubs' own system; the rest take a phone call, and every number we hold is on the shelter's own page.
- Do you need to book ahead?
- 0 of the 7 shelters state that a reservation is required and 0 that it is recommended. The other 7 do not say either way, which is not the same as saying no.
- What if you arrive out of season?
- None of the shelters along this route state that a winter room is left open. Out of season, treat every one of them as shut until you have spoken to somebody.
- What is the highest place you sleep?
- The highest shelter we hold on this route is Hildesheimer Hütte, at 2,900 m.
- Do you have to book half board in Austrian huts?
- No. In German, Austrian and South Tyrol Alpine Club huts a hut may not make a bed booking conditional on half board. You can book just the bed and eat from the menu, or bring food.
- Is it worth joining an Alpine Club for the Stubai Höhenweg?
- Usually, yes. The Austrian club's basic fee was 75 euros in 2026 (79 in 2027), and non-members pay at least 12 euros more per night, so it pays for itself after about 6–7 nights, and the trek itself is 7–8 nights.
Guides for planning it
- When is the trekking season in the Alps? Month by month
- How to check hut availability in the Alps
- What does a night in an Alpine hut cost? 2026 prices by country
- Alpine Club membership: is it worth it, and which club? A guide for Israelis
- What to pack for an Alpine hut trek: what the hut gives you and what you carry
- Winter rooms in Alpine huts: what they are, how to get in and what you pay
- Flights from Tel Aviv for an Alpine trek: which airport for which route
Other classic routes
Distance, days, ascent, high point and season are approximate and taken from Wikipedia (German), Stubaier Höhenweg. Shelters from refuges.info (©Les contributeurs de Refuges.info, CC BY-SA 2.0 FR) and OpenStreetMap (ODbL).
Facts last checked: 25 October 2026
Sources
- Tirol tourist board: Stubaier Höhenweg
- Stubai: Franz-Senn-Hütte
- DAV/ÖAV/AVS hut and tariff order (HÜOTO)
- Bergwelten: what a night in a hut costs (2026)
- DAV München & Oberland: Höllentalangerhütte tariff 2027
- DAV: the Alpine Club online booking system
- ÖAV: membership fees
- Lufthansa Group: Tel Aviv flights resuming (Aug 2026)